Wick Communications

I’m searching everywhere

In Online media on April 16, 2010 at 8:22 am

If you are like me, you go to Google roughly umpteen times a day. (I just googled “How many times a day do people go to Google” and came up with a WikiAnswer: Google logs 2 billion searches a day. So probably 300 million people use Google a day.” I have no idea if that is accurate, but the way I found it was kind of funny to me so I thought I’d pass it along.)

Despite all those searches, I really only use a smidgen of the functionality of the site. More often than not, it’s enough to just type in your query and hit “Google Search.” The beauty of the site is its simplicity. But there are ways to refine the search and you might find them helpful in the course of your journalism.

Recently, the New York Times printed GigaOm blogger Simon Mackie’s 10 tips for a more refined Google search and I thought I’d pass them along. Some of them I use all the time – using Google as a quick substitute for a dictionary, for instance. Others, were entirely new to me. I love the “site:” function and will use that a bunch from now on…

If you have Internet search tips, involving Google or some other search engine, I’d love to hear about them. Feel free to comment.

Clay

  1. Great post Clay! In addition, you can also search file types. For example, lets say you are looking for power point presentations on email marketing, simply Google “email marketing filetype:ppt” and Google will return all power point presentations about email marketing. This works for all types of file types, regardless of what they are. Hope this helps. -Christian

Leave a Reply

