Wick Communications

Keeping track of time

In Ideas on December 15, 2011 at 12:21 pm

I’m a little bit obsessed with time management. I certainly wouldn’t call it a strength of mine. I waste as much time as anyone I know. But I’m always on the lookout for the holy grail – that one tip that will add hours to my day, serenity to my life, more value to my work.

Well, this isn’t it. It’s an idea, though.

I ran into this column in the Wall Street Journal and I think it had interesting ideas.

  • Fragmentation: I agree that I seem to get the least done on those days when I have the most unrelated things to do. I think multi-tasking is really a myth. To do anything well, you have to focus on it. I just don’t believe you when you say you can focus on more than one thing at a time. What you mean is that you can focus on several things for short spurts at a time and you add all that time together and you have several productive fragments. We all have to do that out of necessity, but I don’t think it’s optimal, do you?
  • Time oasis: I love the idea of carving out some time, however limited, for the one thing that is most important to you. You can even schedule it. Get out of the office, close the door – do what you have to do. Make sure you see the forest and not just the trees. …
  • Work diary: I’m not about to start this today, but I think it’s an interesting idea. I can see that writing down the day’s frustrations, recalling the things that worked, remembering what is necessary tomorrow, might be useful. Perhaps it doesn’t have to be a big onerous affair. Maybe it’s just a running Word document thing, with a paragraph each day. It’s an idea. The authors of this Harvard Business Review blog suggest it can bring patience, focus, planning and personal growth. Who couldn’t use a dose of all that?

Clay

Leave a Reply

