Wick Communications

You know you’re a journalist when…

In journalism on 15 Dec 2011 at 12:25 pm

This is supposed to be funny. In fact, the entire site is supposed to point out some of the absurdities of our collective passion. (I follow it on Facebook and laugh just about daily.)

But this one, well, it brought a little lump to my throat. That’s because I can relate to most of the 20 items on the checklist of journalism and I think they paint a picture of some very special people – and I don’t necessarily mean in a “special education” kind of way.

I’m proud to work with folks who get up in the middle of the night prepared to conduct an interview in the buff. I have probably written more than Shakespeare ever wrote, using nothing more than those little square napkins and a hotel pen. Heck, I’m drinking coffee right now!

Journalists are different. We’re driven by curiosity, the need to share what we know, and a finely developed sense of righteous indignation. We aren’t motivated by money alone, which makes us vastly different from the vast majority of the world’s workers. …

This is the last Kicker before the December holidays. I know that many of you will spend a good bit of those holidays away from family and friends. I’ve been known to work on Christmas Eve and even Christmas Day. I wouldn’t say I do it because I want to. But I agree with that 20th item on the checklist. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Journalism isn’t a job or even a career. It’s a description of a certain, very special, kind of person. That is why I’m very proud to work with all of you.

Clay

Leave a Reply

