Wick Communications

Say it in cartoon!

In Innovation, Uncategorized on January 18, 2012 at 11:39 am

 

I was kind of fascinated by something the I saw on nj.com. Bear with me, because this is kind of crazy.

The idea is to create an animated editorial cartoon. I know, right? Crazy. Here’s the craziest part. You don’t have to be a coder or an artist to make it happen. I created that little ditty above there in about two minutes. It cost about 50 cents – better production values would cost a little more, but not much. Now, I admit it was a bit vexing to get it uploaded and working right, but now that I’ve done it, I know how. (The service I used doesn’t have a plugin for WordPress, the platform that I use for this blog, so I uploaded my video to YouTube and then embedded that here.)

Editorial cartoons are as old as newspapers themselves. We have long used satire, irony and an artist’s pen to poke at the powerful in our communities. I see this as an extension of that idea. And I don’t think it’s entirely limited to opinion. Why couldn’t you have a couple characters explaining how to register for school, or how to reach your legislators – anything really.

I used a service called xtranormal. Used to be free, but now you have to buy some tokens first. I bought $10 worth and can make at least 10 videos like that. There are others out there and this blog post mentions some of them. …

It’s important that we always be on the lookout for new ways of reaching our intended audience. This may turn out to be useful. Or it may be a bust. Give it a try and see what you think.

Clay

Leave a Reply

