Wick Communications

Sharing magazine ideas

In Ideas on May 2, 2013 at 4:37 pm

pinterest

Many of us are rethinking magazines. Whether we have one already or whether we are imagining one for the first time, we could all use some ideas that work.

Some of us met in Tucson recently to address this very subject. At the time, I suggested creating another blog dedicated to sharing layout ideas, story suggestions and other tricks of the magazine trade. I was about to do just that when I stumbled onto the idea of creating a Pinterest board for the purpose.

Why Pinterest? A recent study by the Pew Research Center revealed that women are five times more likely than men to use Pinterest, and Pinterest attracts a higher percentage of high-income, well-educated users than Instagram, Twitter or Facebook. That means it is the platform of choice for a demographic that should sound familiar to the people who were in Tucson.

It also seems like the perfect platform to share something visual like magazine ideas. It’s clean and visual and there are thousands of ideas already out there. I’ll try to track home, food, pets, kids – many of the things we talked about in Tucson as well as cool magazine designs we might all learn from.

I should say I’m an absolute novice on Pinterest. And that is part of the reason I’m doing it. I want to learn how to use the platform to see how we might benefit at the Half Moon Bay Review and throughout Wick.

For now anyway, it’s under my own name. If you haven’t already, you should sign up for a Pinterest account. You can find my board here: http://pinterest.com/claytonlambert/. …

Follow me and I’ll follow you. Then I think I can add you so that you can contribute magazine ideas too. Remember: The idea is that this is a place you would glance at now and again for layout and story ideas. Look right now to see ideas like kitchen organization and home decorating and a really cool layout idea with pasta.

I’ll keep reminding you of the Pinterest board. I know I’ll find lots of ideas to borrow and I hope you will as well.

Clay

Leave a Reply

