Wick Communications

Stealing? I’m just flattering you!

In Ideas on May 30, 2013 at 4:45 pm

photo copy

Someone once said imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. It is in that spirit that I intend to flatter WSJ magazine and use the concept above in our own magazine.

As we continue to think about changes to our magazine, I’ve been paying more attention of late to the good things I see in other publications. I’m paying particular attention to magazines like the WSJ product that cater to a market that we covet – upwardly mobile, aspirational, ambitious people.

WSJ asks several hip trendsetters for their 200-word takes on some concept (in the case above, “Intuition.”) I’ll seek out interesting local people and ask them to riff on something that is topical or perhaps in keeping with a magazine theme. To differentiate this from the common man-in-the-street quote thing we do, I plan on allowing folks to email their answers. That will allow them to think it through a bit more than they would if I just showed up with pen and paper.

I even have a plan for producing something like those cool Wall Street Journal stipple drawings. I’m going to run common headshots through an app called ToonPaint. If you want to see what that looks like, check out my own likeness on my Pinterest account. (And don’t forget to see some of the magazine ideas there.)

I’m sure you are always on the lookout for good ideas you can make your own. Consider this a reminder that imitation is sincere flattery.

Clay

Leave a Reply

