Wick Communications

Is Twitter going long?

In Social media on October 1, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Screen Shot 2015-10-01 at 11.32.09 AM

The tech news site Re/code is reporting sort of breathlessly that Twitter is losing its 140-character limit in a move that will allow long-form content and change our relationship with the social media giant. (If you don’t already, you should know about Re/code. Great contributors and there is probably not a better way to keep up with Silicon Valley.)

I actually thought this was coming all along. It’s been talked about for years. Now the new interim CEO is charged with drumming up millions more users and some think that the pool of potential players is lessened by the limit. There is no official word on the change nor any indication of when it might occur.

Me, I like the limit. It causes me to think about how best to deliver the message. As it is, it’s differentiated from Facebook. If I can post at whatever length I like and attach photos and the like, I don’t understand the unique value proposition any longer.

Perhaps I’ll get it when I see it.

If you aren’t in the Twitterati, I strongly suggest you give the platform another look. It really is a great way to follow people on your beat, track real-time breaking news and just keep up with trends and things that interest you. I like it a lot more than Facebook, personally. (Follow me @wicknews!) …

The Knight Digital Media Center put together a great primer a while back and it’s still packed with useful info.

Clay

Leave a Reply

