Wick Communications

1,000 and counting

In Uncategorized on December 10, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 10.39.05 AM

This is the 1,000 post on The Kicker. And that does not include the weekly “our best” and “their best” features that would bring the total well over 1,600.

No wonder I’m so tired.

In announcing the new blog in September 2008, I wrote that the idea here was (and remains) a Friday reflection on our business. We’re so busy all the time. There is precious little space for us to think about the calling that we love and how to do things better and not worse. I hope this has been one such space.

Too often, The Kicker consists of my ramblings on something topical – coverage of terrorism, censorship on college campuses or some such. While I’m gratified to able to express my thoughts on these journalism issues, I think it works best when I am able to identify a real-world problem at one of our sites (as I did here, here and here) and offer some guidance or observation. Perhaps better yet: Sometimes smart people among us offer their own insights on The Kicker and I would love to have more of those. If you have any ideas, please let me know.

It has been particularly gratifying to spotlight our best from week to week. I usually also give the “winner” a shout-out on Twitter and I’ve heard that folks appreciate the recognition when sometimes it seems that is not coming as frequently it is deserved.

Please let me know how I might improve The Kicker going forward. I hope you find it a valuable distraction from the daily grind.

Onward.

Clay

Leave a Reply

