Wick Communications

The Undefeated

In Online media on May 19, 2016 at 3:19 pm

Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 3.04.04 PM

Have you seen this yet? To my mind, it’s not getting nearly enough attention.

I don’t know quite how to describe it, yet I know what it is. That’s because it’s so sure of itself, even in these first fledgling days. It’s an ESPN product and reads as if ESPN were published in gritty New Haven, Conn., rather than bucolic Bristol, Conn.

Editor Kevin Merida explains that his site is an unabashedly Afro-centric corner of the web. That’s not what interests me most, though lord knows we could use more diversity in American news sites. What interests me is the way Merida makes a daring promise:

At The Undefeated, every day will feature a surprise. Every day, some joy. And no day without swagger. We want The Undefeated to feel urgent, necessary, not dutiful.

Amen. He and his team have already given us poetry, rap, long-form journalism, video presentations and insights into sports and culture that you can’t find anywhere else. (One example of that different angle: While the rest of the sports reporting world is marveling at LeBron James’ Cleveland Cavaliers and their own undefeated run through the playoffs, The Undefeated is writing about James’ promise of education for many at-risk kids back in his native Akron, Ohio.)

I’m already hooked on The Undefeated. If you like it too, think about why you do. Is it because it’s providing a unique value proposition? Is it vital? Is it overflowing with quality and surprise? What can we take from that example? …

It’s easy to let this business get you down. Sometimes it seems we are so busy being knocked down that we don’t have time to stand up. The Undefeated is evidence to the contrary. It takes its name from something the poet Maya Angelou once said.

“You see, we may encounter many defeats, but we must not be defeated. It may even be necessary to encounter the defeat, so that we can know who we are. So that we can see, oh, that happened, and I rose. I did get knocked down flat in front of the whole world, and I rose. I didn’t run away — I rose right where I’d been knocked down. And then that’s how you get to know yourself. You say, hmm, I can get up! I have enough of life in me to make somebody jealous enough to want to knock me down. I have so much courage in me that I have the effrontery, the incredible gall to stand up…”

I like The Undefeated because that gall is on full display.

Clay

Leave a Reply

