Wick Communications

Let’s talk soon

In Communication on 9 Feb 2017 at 4:18 pm

screen-shot-2017-02-09-at-3-17-01-pm

One of my personal goals for the coming year is to reconnect with Wick editors. To that end, I would like to set up some phone calls.

I know, I know. No one is clamoring for more conference calls. But I think it’s important that we talk more often, that we share solutions to common dilemmas, that we discuss our collective passion for community journalism.

To that end, I’m going to set up monthly phone calls with editors by region. I want these calls to be small enough to be intimate and meaningful. I think doing it on a regional basis lessens the time-zone problem and could create synergies between our shops that have similar reader interests. I will do everything in my power to set them up at a convenient time for all.

On first blush, I am thinking one call will be for Arizona editors, another for Alaska, Oregon, Idaho and Colorado, and a third for the Dakotas, Montana, Louisiana and North Carolina.

These calls will not take long. Definitely less than an hour. The first might be just a get-to-know one another call and in following months we might talk about achieving the 2017 goals spelled out in another post today, proper use of social media, photography tips, FOIA requests — I’m completely open to your topic suggestions.

So don’t be surprised when I touch base in the next couple of weeks asking what times work for you.

Clay

Leave a Reply

