Wick Communications

Add weight with packaging

In Planning on May 4, 2017 at 12:52 pm

This week, I was struck by this bit of packaging in the Los Angeles Times. And I should say, I’m not presenting it because it takes our president to task, but merely because I appreciate the thought that went into packaging a group of editorials. (That said, if you don’t choose to look at all of them, I would recommend the installment called “Trump’s war on journalism.”)

When is the last time you had a series of editorials designed to drive a particular discussion in your community? I don’t think I’ve ever done anything like this in a coordinated way, and I don’t think I’ve ever seen it in a Wick newspaper. I think it’s a very interesting way to keep up the pressure and to set the agenda for your community.

If you do something like this, you can link them as sibling assets in BLOX. You can run boxes in print referencing your previous related work online. You can even string them together after the series runs as a special opinion page. (Hopefully, by then it will have generated online comments you can use as well as letters to the editor.)

One reason I mention this is by way of reminder. Remember that guy in Iowa, the one who won a Pulitzer Prize for editorial writing this year? He won largely for a series of opinion pieces that took big agri-business to task for polluting his town. I bet his work would have had even more resonance if he’d packaged it like this.

What Big Things could you focus on in your community? Can you outline how three or four or five editorials might look? I’ll do it if you will.

Clay

Leave a Reply

